twankharder

Apparently we'll never grow out of twank.

The Stuff of (Urban) Legend

And until a nonnie gifted us with this, we thought the email was an urban legend.

Our guess is that Nina was helping with the marketing of Univers–excuse us, Gabriel’s Inferno. Nina’s profile disappeared from the Omnific staff page a long time ago, allegedly the night after the Hannah81 twank on the original Twankhard, but we’re all almost certain she was in charge of something-or-other marketing. And a Certified Editor™, of course. So again, our guess is that as a friend of Sebas–er, Sylvain’s or sub mesa with Omnific, she put together this promo email.

It’s a step up from the author spamming everyone who originally had the fanfic on alert with a totally believable explanation of how the story started as original, then got changed to a fanfic and back again and asking them to go buy the new old the book, right?

We personally don’t think this means Ninapolitan is Sylvain Reynard, but that was a popular theory, and now here’s the email, and everyone can read and/or discuss without worrying that a huge love post is going to go up tomorrow. We liked the original Twankhard because with so many people commenting, it wasn’t just one person forcing their version of the absolute truth on anyone else.

26 responses to “The Stuff of (Urban) Legend

  1. Is that cheese? February 21, 2011 at 7:37 pm

    Did people really think that if Nina were Sebastian, she’d be dumb enough to send an email from her regular account? Not that I ever thought she wrote the UofEM.

    • Anonymous February 21, 2011 at 10:36 pm

      I’d like to think so, but there’s that Hannah thing… Sometimes people are just unbelievably sloppy.

      I agree tho, she was probably just doing the marketing.

  2. anonymous February 21, 2011 at 8:02 pm

    As being someone who does not personally know Nina, I’m not sure just how intelligent she is. Some people simply do not think when doing things on the internet and maybe they’re not aware that some of their identity will be revealed. Now, I’m not saying SR is Nina, but how come, back in the summer of 2010, when SR was still regularly posting UoEM, his blog notifications were still linked to ninapolitan@[redacted]? I’ve known this for months but kept quiet, not wanting to stir up trouble with certain people in the fandom. All I want is answers.

    What I don’t get, though, is why, if Nina was SR, she would create a fake name and personality to post such a well written story. Makes no sense. And why did all of her stories suddenly disappear except for The Wingman?

    It just pisses me off when people come into this fandom and use the readers to validate if their story is good enough to publish or not and then flee. If you were a REAL writer, it wouldn’t work that way.

    • Is that cheese? February 21, 2011 at 8:25 pm

      I think once Nina got the job with Alex’s Lemonade Stand that she didn’t want her smuttier stories out there for people outside the fandom to find. Or maybe it had something to do with her divorce?

      • anonymous February 21, 2011 at 11:37 pm

        I also remember back in Sept of 09, I had started reading Nina’s WIP ‘Bella Swan…’ story. I can’t quite recall the whole title, but I was reading it and then she all of a sudden pulled it claiming she was receiving lots of hate mail and such. But really, who pulls their story because of that? From what I remember reading, the story did not come off as offensive and I don’t see how it could have generated so much controversy. Anyways, around the time that was pulled, SR came into the fandom and UoEM started posting. I just wonder, if Nina is SR, did she pull her WIP so she could focus on her alter ego, SR?

        You know, I could be totally crazy, but I am just so suspicious. I’ve been suspicious for a very long time. It’s just a gut feeling.

    • onoyguyg February 21, 2011 at 11:57 pm

      AFAIK, Nna just set up the blog to SR as a favor. Maybe because omni was courting SR and it was her way of kissing ass, or maybe she was genuinely his or her friend, not sure.

      But I’m positive they’re two different people.

  3. anonymous February 21, 2011 at 8:18 pm

    This has come out a while ago. I’m pretty sure she was linked to him/her because she did his/her website design. Who knows for sure though. I’ve seen weirder things happen in this fandom.

  4. Ralph S. Mouse February 21, 2011 at 9:06 pm

    Now I’m wondering, if Nina was doing SR’s blog and emails…why? Was it because even back then, Omnific was courting the author since UOEM had so many reviews?

    The thing I keep coming back to is that it seems every time I hear about Omnific, it’s because they’re completely contradictin g themselves. They said they don’t publish fanfiction, but they get around it by haiving almost all their titles be reworked fic. They said there’s an intensive editing process and the final draft is nothing like the fanfic, yet we saw with Hannah’s story that it is quite literally a find and replace. There was a comment on the original Twankhard about some story where Bella was compared to Belle in Beauty and the Beast, and that part was left in even when “Bella” became some other name. And with Hannah’s story, she left in a coffee reference even though she changed Seattle to Chicago. Wait, ChicagoSeattle. And people who have the books say they’re full of typos.

    They want people to think they have this professional business going,b ut they all act just as petty and self-absorbed as they did when they were just big names at Twilighted. Their “marketing” is YouTube videos and spam emails. Their “legal counsel” made a complete ass of herself on the Twilighted thread until the ones who posted questions basically said “Oh okay, thanks for your time” and then took it to private email amongst themselves because she was just a mess. I’ve seen Girl Scout fundraisers run more professionally.

    So everything they’ve done so far is just so shady that nothing looks like coincidence any more.

    • Anonymous February 21, 2011 at 10:32 pm

      So much this. I automatically assume the worst always bcs of the shit they’ve pulled.

    • Have to say February 22, 2011 at 12:36 am

      For many years I was the “cookie mom” for my daughters’ Girl Scout troops. Of course our fundraisers were professional. For one thing people *love* the cookies. I’ve never heard a bad word against Thin Mints! And for another thing, we made money. We were able to pay the staff and administrative costs for the state organization plus fund activities for the girls in the troop! Omnific only wishes they could be as successful.

    • anonymous_chopsticks February 22, 2011 at 7:03 am

      I don’t think that it’s right to chalk up the Omnific process to ‘not at all edited’ because Hannah was sloppy enough to post what was painfully obvious as her first draft of any sort of change to her story. That was Hannah being…less than savvy. It was a really dumb thing for her to do and I’m sure that the people who run Omnific were utterly appalled.

      You don’t have to like their final products, of course, and you can hate their very existence but come on. Are they really going to be dumb enough to put that to print??

  5. Anonymous February 22, 2011 at 1:32 am

    I’ve always wondered if in fact omnific are now using fanfiction as a way of promoting authors which actually have no relevance to the community. I know at the beginning it was omnific who approached the FF writers and this is still continuing. But by placing writers into the fandom and creating a following and then pulling a story with an authors note stating that they’re publishing, a large number of loyal followers will then go over to the omnific website and buy the book.
    A – Out of loyalty to the author.
    or
    B Just to see how the damn story ends.
    It’s the cheapest publicity in the world because it costs absolutely nothing. They find an author (give them a pen name) who can write a page turning easy to read story (it’s easy enough to do, how many english lit graduates would happily sit and write a bit off fluff for a small fee). They publish the chapters on a website which is completely free. Place some lurkers in the relevant places (twilighted, adf, gaz etc) to spread the word about the fic and watch it fly, then pull it.
    In someways it’s what legit publishing houses do (read the first chapter of best selling authors new book here), spam amazon with god reviews. It’s possible that omnific after discovering the popularity off ff when they started publishing them decided rather than just relying on what the fandom has to offer lets create our own ff writers. Using tried and tested tricks of legitimate publishing houses and tailoring them to the fandom. Replace read the first chapter with read the first 15 chapters, replace amazon with adf or twilighted discussion board.
    If omnific haven’t done it I’m betting another less than legitimate publishing house much like themselves will do so in the future. You’ve got a big audience in their late teens and twenties
    that = disposable income.

    • anonymous February 22, 2011 at 3:13 am

      I, for one, will never be buying another book from omnific ever again. I only bought one from an author who was currently writing another story. I was so into her current story that I wanted to see just how good the pulled fic, ahem, story was. Well, it turns out that it’s kind of difficult to get into a story that has completely different characters with different descriptions. Because let’s face it, we read fanfic for Edward and Bella, Jasper and Alice, etcetera – not Jack and Gracie, not blonde curly hair. Excuse me, Edward has bronze hair and I’d like to keep it that way.

      I’m sorry, but in my opinion, you’re better off having your book bought on omnific by someone who doesn’t read twi fanfic. It’s a cheap experience. I could only read half of the book and now I’m not sure what to do with it.

      At least there are some respectable authors out there who have written stuff for ff, pulled it, moved on and are actually writing something completely organic for a start in their writing careers. Cheers to them.

    • solareclipses February 22, 2011 at 4:03 am

      Er… As much as I think Omnific is a legal quagmire, let’s not forget Occam’s Razor here. Time is money in all business. To do something like this…yeah, it wouldn’t be practical at all.

      • Anonymous February 22, 2011 at 11:33 am

        I don’t know two chapter updates a week you could do it in less than 3 months. Even for a crappy PH like omnific that’s a very quick turnaround. Far quicker than using genuine FF authors.

  6. Nin February 22, 2011 at 3:06 am

    This again? Really?

    I’m friends with SR. I’ve said from day one, I made SR’s site, as a favor to a friend. I’ve done others without this much hooplah.

    I’m not SR, I’ll be the first to say, we don’t write similarly. At all. Though, I think that’s obvious. 😉

    I don’t know what ‘hannahwank’ means or why I’m involved with that either so I can’t comment.

    My stories were pulled but, *I* myself, sent them into that database for others to have. You can ask the person(s) in charge. IDGAF if they’re out there, I just didn’t want them on my profile anymore. I didn’t even realize Wingman was still up.

    As far as the feedburner and SR’s site. Yes, it’s my gmail, no, I don’t do the posts, SR writes them, posts them and then a blast from feedburner comes from my email. Any responses are auto-forwarded to SR not to me, since, I’m NOT SR.

    I’m in PA, anyone that cares by now knows this. SR is somewhere in O’Canada. Anyone that has ever interacted with SR knows that.

    I’m not commenting on Omnific because I’m not a representative for them.

    As far as ALSF, I don’t work for them. I’m a volunteer. I have been for nearly 6 years, if you’re interested. Nothing has anything to do with my online life etc. My FB is filled with RL and fandom friends. I hide nothing.

    Bella Swan Diaries was pulled in Aug of 09′ b/c it was/is a huge POS and an embarrassment to have listed. Sorry to disappoint.

    P.S. When did I get divorced? I’ll have to let my husband know lol.

    • Is that cheese? February 22, 2011 at 12:17 pm

      Nina, sorry about the scurrilous gossip. I must have confused you with someone else — and now I don’t want to say who for fear of getting it wrong not once but twice. I guess I need to send a “congratulations on your volunteer job and not-divorce” card somewhere. 🙂

    • twankharder February 22, 2011 at 3:32 pm

      Yes, “this again.” As much as we appreciate your taking the time to address these points (except disappearing from Omnific because durr it says I left right when Hannah posted and there’s a link but idgi it’s so unclear and what does that have to do with me??), if people want to chat about things, that’s their business. We’d much rather have input from all sides – to consider, not take as gospel – but the contempt some of you women feel compelled to show for the less obsequious members of the fandom isn’t exactly a stellar marketing strategy. The dead-horse complaint is starting to become a dead horse itself.

      If some of the comments here were false, we’d be upset in your shoes too. Just try to imagine someone (even loosely) connected with Random House mocking people who missed hearing something, or one of their lawyers going ballistic on anyone who had concerns.

      • Nina February 22, 2011 at 3:53 pm

        I’m sorry, I didn’t realize it was anyone’s business why I left Omnific besides my own. I didn’t “disappear” either, I left after speaking with them about it.

        I didn’t think it warranted a post, a fandom announcement or me giving anyone a copy of my two-weeks notice. It’s my business.

        I also can’t imagine what the big deal is that I left. It was more than seven months ago and I did it quietly because that was my choice. I’ve also backed out of the fandom quietly choosing only to remain with Fandom Gives Back but I suppose that needed a post too? Who cares? People come and go all the time from things without unnecessary hullabaloo.

        Frankly, you say you’d rather have all the input? I’d rather have someone just ask me flat out instead of tossing out crap theories. Especially, when you’re pulling my personal life, my volunteer work and that of my family into fandom mudslinging.

        You’ve listed my email, it’s just as easy to send a message asking for clarification.

        • Is that cheese? February 22, 2011 at 5:22 pm

          “you’re pulling my personal life, my volunteer work and that of my family into fandom mudslinging”

          I’m responding to this as I was the person who wrote “I think once Nina got the job with Alex’s Lemonade Stand that she didn’t want her smuttier stories out there for people outside the fandom to find. Or maybe it had something to do with her divorce?”

          I’ve already admitted I was wrong, and apologized. However, I would not consider my comment as “mudslinging” if defined as “the practice of making unscrupulous, malicious attacks against an opponent.” Saying (incorrectly) that you were employed and divorced is hardly an unscrupulous attack. None of it was meant pejoratively. Believe me, if I wanted to mudsling, I’d be much more obvious.

        • twankharder February 22, 2011 at 5:42 pm

          You’re missing the point quite a bit here, or deliberately trying to derail. Of course it’s your business why you left. But it happened overnight after a very embarrassing incident. People wondered. I don’t think anyone thought you never spoke to Omnific about it. And you came in and addressed pretty much every other thing that was mentioned in the comments here, so understandably it looks weird to turn around and say that one thing isn’t anyone’s business while the whole rest of it got an answer.

          As to emailing you and “just asking,” again you miss the point. Of course we expected you to say you’re not SR. We didn’t really think you were in the first place. But you saying that isn’t The Last Word. This isn’t a perfect comparison, but suppose someone had emailed Krismom before that whole plagiarism thing exploded and asked “Oi, this sounds a lot like the plot for this book I read called Whatever Makes You Happy. I even recognise the style. Is this just that same story with Esme and her boys?” If she replied and said “No I never heard of that book” is that the end of it because she was asked and said no? We’re sure she’d rather someone had just emailed her, but unfortunately she doesn’t get to dictate that.

          Again, if a comment shows up here that’s false and you want to say so, that’s fine, but it’s naive to say that all it takes is an email to anyone we discuss on here because they’d never lie.

          We did reup the pic with the @ part of your email gone; that was a slip on our part because we’ve seen your email before on the charity sites and so it didn’t jump out as something that ought to be blacked out.

  7. Nina February 22, 2011 at 3:06 am

    This again? Really?

    I’m friends with SR. I’ve said from day one, I made SR’s site, as a favor to a friend. I’ve done others without this much hooplah.

    I’m not SR, I’ll be the first to say, we don’t write similarly. At all. Though, I think that’s obvious. 😉

    I don’t know what ‘hannahwank’ means or why I’m involved with that either so I can’t comment.

    My stories were pulled but, *I* myself, sent them into that database for others to have. You can ask the person(s) in charge. IDGAF if they’re out there, I just didn’t want them on my profile anymore. I didn’t even realize Wingman was still up.

    As far as the feedburner and SR’s site. Yes, it’s my gmail, no, I don’t do the posts, SR writes them, posts them and then a blast from feedburner comes from my email. Any responses are auto-forwarded to SR not to me, since, I’m NOT SR.

    I’m in PA, anyone that cares by now knows this. SR is somewhere in O’Canada. Anyone that has ever interacted with SR knows that.

    I’m not commenting on Omnific because I’m not a representative for them.

    As far as ALSF, I don’t work for them. I’m a volunteer. I have been for nearly 6 years, if you’re interested. Nothing has anything to do with my online life etc. My FB is filled with RL and fandom friends. I hide nothing.

    Bella Swan Diaries was pulled in Aug of 09′ b/c it was/is a huge POS and an embarrassment to have listed. Sorry to disappoint.

    P.S. When did I get divorced? I’ll have to let my husband know lol.

  8. Twilight Fic Database February 22, 2011 at 6:18 pm

    Errrrr…butting in here. Just wanted to say that Nina did give us (the database admins) permission to post ALL of her stories without complaint or hoopla (which is more than I can say for ALOT of the other authors). I also think this post was unnecessary. Nina isn’t SR. I thought that had already been covered?

    If you want to discuss wank, discuss the fic Age is Just Another Number and how it was also plagiarized from an eBook and recently pulled from FF.net.

    • twankharder February 22, 2011 at 6:39 pm

      We’ve been alerted to the plagiarism and will post about it (plagiarism in general) as soon as we can all get on Gchat and put one together.

      It is good to know that Nina freely gave you her stories which as you said is more than some other authors did.

      Nina isn’t SR. I thought that had already been covered?

      If by covered, you mean a few people said it couldn’t be Nina, others said it still looked suspicious, and then the whole thing quickly got replaced by the next shiny toy then yes. But from the comments to previous entries it’s clear that not everyone was up to speed, and since one comment claimed the email in question was a fabrication…if you’ll notice, our position was that SR and Nina were not the same person, though we left people to think what they wanted instead of telling them what they wanted to think.

      This isn’t ADF or the gazebo where one person being tired of discussing something means everyone else has to shut up too. We don’t care if this post is still getting occasional comments two months from now. Everyone moves through fandom at their own pace.

Leave a Reply

