twankharder

Apparently we'll never grow out of twank.

But she was so NICE…

Just this week we were thinking, damn we miss Twankhard. Should we start a new one? Has the fandom finally settled down?

Mostly it was the discussion in the comments we missed. It’s amazing how many nasty things BNFs do that never come to light because people are afraid to speak up.

And, ironically, one of us was reading this yesterday. Read it; it’s worth the time.

So, it would appear that Krismom, author of The Velveteen Mother and Committed to Memory, has been accused of some serious plagiarism. Not a few funny quotes, not even borrowing someone else’s plot or scenes…but actually copying, verbatim, from several novels, according to a poster on her Twilighted thread.

Since the accusation (yesterday), she has pulled her fics from ff.net and turned off PMs, and today things went splodey on ADF.

The comments so far are predictable:

It’s only fanfic and it’s plagiarism anyway!
She’s such a nice person!
I don’t want to accuse anyone [but I would if I didn’t like the person]!

A few points for discussion:

Fanfic isn’t plagiarism, it’s derivative. Plagiarism is copying word for word (or heavily paraphrasing…and if the paraphrased text comes up on a Google search with a hit to the original book, that’s pretty heavy).

Let’s face it, no matter how nasty the person, they always have friends to say how nice they are. The nastiest people in this fandom still have fangirls. So comments like these don’t mean much. But none of that matters, and you know why? Because it’s still wrong to steal even if you’re nice to the people who praise you for “your” work after you steal it.

You don’t want to accuse? Then why not go read the excerpts on the forum and educate yourself? Sticking your head in the sand like an ostrich doesn’t make you noble, especially if you would go searching if it was someone you didn’t like.

We’re still waiting to post a table of excerpts until we do a little more searching of passages. Not all books are searchable online; who even knows how much more there is? Or will ever know? Cassie Clare had a HUUUUUUUUGE fanbase and still it took forever for anyone to notice.

Anyway, comment away (anonymously). Comments are moderated but will show up as soon as we get to approving them. We’re here for those who like discussing the batshit in this fandom; if it turns out the fandom’s moved on (right), we’ll fade away like the original.

ETA: Guys, really, we’re not the originals, and we won’t be nearly as funny as they were; those are tough shoes to fill. We’re just sick of all the cliquiness and want a place where people aren’t afraid to say some BNF isn’t as wonderful as their doting fangirls say.

23 responses to “But she was so NICE…

  1. immAnonny February 11, 2011 at 9:13 pm

    Awwww we’re back on????? *tears from happiness*

  2. Oh snap! February 11, 2011 at 9:21 pm

    Can I just say something? Thank God you’re back!

  3. Is that cheese? February 11, 2011 at 9:30 pm

    I’d respect Krismom if she had stuck around. I remember when something similar happened to quothme and she at least apologized and didn’t hide. She got my respect for that.

  4. NOTREALLY February 11, 2011 at 10:15 pm

    Oh this is cute, the 1st site died as soon as it was born and this one will die just as quickly. This would be better if there were names and faces.

  5. Watch out February 11, 2011 at 10:23 pm

    Um I hope you guys realize that the fist twankhard was shut down bc they got into RL legal trouble for the things they were posting. That’s right. While there is freedom of speech there is also an accountability that goes along with it.

    Good luck and I hope you have a great legal team.

    • anonymouse666 February 11, 2011 at 10:34 pm

      LOL krismom plagiarises a published book and they’re not allowed to blog about it? Yeahno.

    • Anonymous February 11, 2011 at 11:21 pm

      Um if they got in legal trouble, why wasn’t the blog deleted? Wouldn’t that be the first thing you’d do?

    • ridiculosity February 11, 2011 at 11:35 pm

      lol, is this real life?

      Fucking legalities, how do they work?

    • IdreamofEddy February 12, 2011 at 2:33 am

      Jeez…why’s everyone afraid to leave their names? Watch_Out? Grow a pair. Are they going to be accused of bullying over the internet? This is merely another public forum much like ADF that’s reporting the issue at hand, people are putting in their two cents, and my dear, you don’t know your ass from a hole in the ground. (‘scuse me. I’m a comma whore.)

      If you want to talk about accountability, then it needs to start with KrisMom. But fuck, I’m not gonna hunt her down, hang her out to dry, or read her shit when someone sends me the PDF. It’s yet another example of WHY THIS FANDOM HAS NOT GROWN UP. And WHY we need sites like Twankhard or Twankharder.

    • HammerHips February 12, 2011 at 3:18 pm

      OMG!?! Are you serious!?! LEGAL problems!?! Yeah, why isn’t the site gone then? Oh, that would be because you’re so full of shit it’s seeping from your ears.

      Even IF the originals received a legal cease & desist order and that’s why they stopped posting, there wasn’t a leg for the lawyers to stand on. If you don’t believe me, go ahead and google legal rights of anonymous bloggers. There was much discussion on this topic a few years ago and nothing any of the Twankhard sites are doing is illegal, so blow it out your ass.
      And yes, I posted my REAl fanfic name here, because although I understand why the creators of both sites don’t want their names dragged through the mud, I still think what they say would have more punch if they released their names. Why? Because they are standing up for things that are WRONG in the fandom and doing that earns my respect. I’m not one to go te anonymous route, though. I mean the name Deep Throat is already taken, and that’s the only one I would want just for the awesome factor, so I’ll stick with HH.
      We have BNA, BNF, and I think we need another acronym for peeps that aren’t anon…BFMs (Big Fucking Mouths). It’s a badge I would wear proudly because I don’t want to be anon. Someone might claim credit for my posts and that would be wrong. Like plagiarism or something, then I’d be forced to rant about it anonymously on a blog and that would suck.
      Great job twankharders. Keep up the good work. If you’d like someone to help you design a website, you have my email 🙂

  6. bippityboppitybitch February 11, 2011 at 10:24 pm

    Fuck yeah!

  7. bippityboppitybitch February 11, 2011 at 10:27 pm

    Oh fuck your legal eagle bullshit.

  8. iDontgetIT February 11, 2011 at 10:40 pm

    I just don’t understand what would possess someone to write ff this way…I mean, this doesn’t anger me or annoy me, it just BAFFLES me! I’ve written a couple stories…they suck. They’ve hardly been recognized by ten people. But, in the few alerts that I’ve received from people or even the VERY few reviews that people have left for me…I get this, like, *glow* of sorts. I’m giddy. Happy. I wanna take my shirt off and wave it around.

    Ok.

    Not really, but you get what I’m saying. I get excited when someone enjoys something coming from my brain. My words. My jokes. *My* imagination. What does she get out of a review or an alert? Is she happy? Does her using someone else’s success make her feel good about herself? Surely not.

    Surely under every smile she thinks, “Thanks for liking someone else’s story.”

    Is she, or anyone else who plagiarizes, that hard up for a stinkin review? I’m not going to lie and say I wouldn’t give my left pinkie toe for some reviews, but is it THAT necessary for all of these anonymous peers to recognize you? I know EVERYONE wants to be recognized, but at what cost? It’s fanfic people. If you take it so seriously that you have to steal from other people, then it’s probably not a good outlet for you.

    I write, and make funnies as a stress reliever. A way to get away from the crazy in my real life. I doubt that’s any different from some of you. But I don’t take it seriously. Why would anyone take this seriously?

    It’s just a story. If you get bent out of shape because you aren’t recognized, grow some self respect and stop giving a shit about other people. More than likely, your one little story will not be remembered in it’s entirity in a few months. I’ve read hundreds of fics and there are five that I can remember every detail. Five. Out of hundreds. All the stories just start running together. I can’t seem to get to my point here. I just don’t get it. Why does anyone need to steal from someone to make it big in fanfic. That’s lame covered in lamesauce.

    • Anonymous February 11, 2011 at 11:24 pm

      IDGI either. I’d like more reviews, but I don’t want to get them that way. Besides, look at some of the craptastic fics out there with thousands of reviews. If you’re struggling to write, who cares? Quality isn’t valued very high in this fandom.

    • solareclipses February 12, 2011 at 5:40 am

      I’ll start this by saying I never read any of “her” stuff, but having been around the geekier end of internet block for 15 years now (oh, God, has it been that long?), I would guess that this is a troll of rather large/epic proportions. Some people get off on playing the trickster; the more successful they are at it, the more they enjoy it. It’s a rather immature game, but not an entirely surprising one, truth be told.

    • PullmyFinger March 8, 2011 at 6:46 am

      I think she feels part of the “IN” crowd. Just look at the clique over at ADF..all the rangers have their own lil clique and I’ve seen the minions feel “honored” to have one of them reply to their post (while they usually only reply to each other or in a thread created by another ranger). It goes back to 5th grade really. It’s quite sad.

  9. Alby Mangroves February 11, 2011 at 11:31 pm

    It just makes me sad, and I feel like a bit of an idiot for falling for it. Isn’t that silly? I know how long it takes me to knock out a chapter and how painstakingly I go through it before I post, so I feel ripped off that this person who replied to all reviews and was genuinely lovely, took advantage of us and fed her ego with our review love for work that wasn’t even hers. Mind you, I loved her stories and pimped them to my friends. Also, imagine how duped her Betas must feel 😦

  10. Anonymous February 12, 2011 at 2:16 am

    God but this makes me so angry. I guess I’m the opposite of the “but she was so nice” types because I felt The Velveteen Mother glorified emotional abuse, with Esme using threats and guilt to get her way, and I found it so triggering but no one ever wanted to listen because “well, her words are just beautiful and poor abandoned Esme…”

    Meanwhile, the line that was used for her blurb everywhere that horrible mess got promoted contained this bit of genius:

    Having a mother like Esme was like having faulty plumbing. You could never quite relax. You never knew when and where you would next be mopping up.

    And now I search for it and get this, from William Sutcliffe’s Whatever Makes You Happy:

    Having a mother like Helen, he sometimes felt, was like having faulty plumbing. You could never quite relax. You never knew when and where you would next be mopping up.

    Rage.

  11. Sally February 12, 2011 at 6:14 am

    It is sad that people go to this length to become well known in fic…… I loved her stuff and pimped it out…… For the most part this fandom is amazing, but I have seen many, many, many instances where people definitely need to be twanked, glad for this blog.

Leave a Reply

